UHF versus 27Mhz CB

This is NOT about comparing the relative qualities of UHF and 27Mhz.
But it does explain why I have not been able to contact some truckies on Ch40 UHF.

On a recent trip I camped near a large converted bus motorhome. It displayed a total of 8 (yes eight) antennae mounted on a rail above the cabin. As I studied them the owner emerged and asked if I would like an explanation, which went like this:

FM/AM broadcast band
HF autotune
Next G for phone
Next G for internet
Police band scanner (owner was retired cop)
UHF tuned to a selected channel
UHF on scan
27Mhz CB
He also had a satellite dish for TV!

The owner explained that many truckies are using 27Mhz to isolate themselves from the UHF recreation fraternity. So calling them on UHF40 may get you nowhere.

Next day with a road train hot on my tail I was able to contact him on UHF40 and offer my cooperation for him to pass. It was appreciated. Later I pulled up alongside him at a roadhouse and chatted. I put the 27Mhz question to him and he confirmed it. In fact he said that he also carried 27Mhz but responded to UHF "if it suited him".

So there I had the answer as to why some truckies do not respond on UHF.
They either do not hear you ...... or choose to not hear you!

Reply By: Joe n Mel - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:18

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:18
wow, that is interesting and explains a few things .... looks like the clock has been wound back to suit the basic "need" for the 2 way radios as they were intended to be used for .....
AnswerID: 432756

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:24

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:24
Allan, your quote today:

"Next day with a road train hot on my tail I was able to contact him on UHF40 and offer my cooperation for him to pass. It was appreciated."

Your quote on August 7th:

"With a bit of luck the other vehicle may just also have a UHF and with a bit more luck may even be listening on your broadcast channel, and with even more luck may even pay you some heed. You have a better chance of winning the lottery. "

Hope you're going to spread the wealth with your lottery win....

AnswerID: 432758

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:58

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:58
Yes Stephen, this was the first time of a number of attempts for me to succeed in contacting a truckie. It must be my resonant voice that puts them off.
I did consider buying a lottery ticket but don't want to push my luck too far!

Maybe I'd do better buying a 27Mhz CB radio. Come to think of it, my HF is programmed with 40 channels in the 27Mhz band. Perhaps I could try that..... but which of the 40 would I use? It's all just too much!

As for "spreading my wealth". Was that a sarcastic comment or wit?

FollowupID: 703517

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:08

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:08
Just a good natured dig Allan. I'm glad you had some success with the radio.

Speaking of 40 channels what are we going to do next year when UHF CBs come out with 80 channels? I'm not entirely across the proposed changes but I believe it's 80 channels.

We'll be like a dog with 2 d..... lol

FollowupID: 703518

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:15

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:15
I guessed it was just a dig Stephen. Just like mine of Aug 7, hmm?

Yep, I understand 80 also. Maybe my friend in the motorhome will need to add a ninth antenna. lol But I certainly won't be upgrading!

FollowupID: 703520

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:55

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:55
Allow me just one question, are you using a Uniden.

FollowupID: 703523

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:01

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:01
No, a GME TX4400 Doug.
Which incidentally, worked fine in a recent convoy.

And you can ask as many questions as you like mate.
(But I may not be able to answer all!!)

FollowupID: 703524

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:46

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:46
No that's all mate, case closed , you may go.

FollowupID: 703528

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:15

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:15
Doug, It is interesting you ask that question. Recently I went away with 3 other vehicles, 2 of us had GME 5 W, 2 had Uniden in vehicle 5 W. All was fine up close but with a bit of distance, the Uniden guys could hear each other clearly and the GME guys could too but GME to Uniden and visa versa was weak.

Have you seen Uniden to GME ( or other ) issues? , I am fascinated why you asked that question given what we experienced.
FollowupID: 703539

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:51

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:51
Boobook
I have explained this a couple times on EO over the last 3 years, archived thread would take time to find, I began using CB's back around 1976 , would have been among the 1st Truckies to use the 23Ch AM 27Mhz, mine I bought from Tandy in Wagga, then we went over to UHF as well when hit the market, after constant using one gets to know if a signal is close or far ,As a Pilot/Escort driver you call and talk to every oncoming truck, and caravanner if you suspect he/she's on air, many times I get get a badly distorted incoming signal, as if the person has a gob full of a Big Mac , and I done this test many times, I ask what brand of radio are you using,,answer is always Uniden, GMC and Icom will give your listener a clear sharp reception that is easy to understand, I have been disputed this claim but I'm convinced, do the test yourself and see.

FollowupID: 703546

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:06

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:06
That is certainly consistent with what I observed on the trip Doug.

I usually travel with other people ( not even sure what UHF they had) and never experienced the issue till that time.

I thought I was imagining it. I though Nah, the standards will make sure they are all 100% compatible. It was like they were a little off frequency or something.

I have a uniden 3w hand held which seems ok, but I only ever use that a hundred meters or so away for winching etc.

FollowupID: 703548

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:17

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:17
Doug, your last post on this Uniden thing was 69157.
After reading it I'm glad I don't have a Uniden!

FollowupID: 703550

Reply By: ross - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:25

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 23:25
Sounds like the crazy ex CIA dstation boss/dad in Meet the Fockers

AnswerID: 432759

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:18

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:18
Yes Ross, I didn't see inside his van but it probably looked like your photo.
Nice bloke though. Besides, with all his contacts I would prefer to keep on his good side! LOL

FollowupID: 703521

Reply By: billy the kid - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:14

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:14
Well, if they dont answer on uhf40 they can't complain if we hold them up.
AnswerID: 432764

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:22

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:22
Billy, they don't complain to me. They just plant that three-storey high radiator grille about one metre from my rear window!!!!

FollowupID: 703522

Reply By: SDG - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:56

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 00:56
I still run both in the patrol. Often hear just as much on channel 8, as on channel 40.
AnswerID: 432765

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:04

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:04
SDG, is your channel 8 on the 27Mhz?

FollowupID: 703538

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 07:24

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 07:24
G'day all, when touring I travel with HF, 2 x UHF & 27meg 3 way with SSB plus 2x different Sat. phones, plus 2- 3G mobile x 2 carriers! Plus a UHF handheld for each passenger. (phew!)
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 432771

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 08:30

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 08:30
Hey dingo,

I travel with a GME 3220 that doesn't receive, a Uniden handheld with flat batteries and a Missus that doesn't bother yakk'n cos she thinks I'm deaf.

Oh...the bliss.

Cheers.......Lionel.
FollowupID: 703535

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:00

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:00
Dingo, It must be like an Indian call-centre in your cab!!

Lionel, Ahhhh, bliss!!

FollowupID: 703537

Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:13

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:13
I was just thinking that it'd be a bit like the Pentagon situation room, hahaha.

That's a LOT of comms stuff, but I suppose it depends on where you are going and how much you want to make sure you'll always have something to communicate with.

S
FollowupID: 703960

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:23

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:23
Allan B
In our travels have noticed some vehicles with a number of antenna's, maybe three,
1x UHF
1x 27mhz
1x Next G
can't quite understand why this guy would have one for Next g phone and another for the internet.

Why not just have the one with a splitter??

Could be he likes to draw attention to himself.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 432780

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:37

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:37
Or double as a mobile clothes line.
;)
FollowupID: 703542

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:42

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 09:42
Hi Baz,

Yes he probably was proud of his antenna array.
However, using a splitter does introduce a signal loss of maybe 3.0dB so possibly he wished to avoid that

I also have a Next G antenna but simply transfer the cable from phone to computer when needed. Not into multi-tasking anyway. LOL

FollowupID: 703544

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 15:53

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 15:53
This has been the case for a long time. The reason I purchased my duel band Uniden ( 27mhz & UHF ) a number of years ago, was because a number of my truck driving friends were using them. That radio has been in a number of 4wd's and is still going strong. Very convenient being able to avoid the many radio "ratbags".
Capt.
FollowupID: 703565

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:40

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:40
Hi Allan,
Just as a matter of interest I have an old Uniden UHF52XR hand held with a separate replacement 12v power pack for vehicle use. It is a 1 watt/5 watt, switchable unit, in the rodeo I have a UHF s/s external antenna plugged directly into the UHF. In the 5 watt mode I have spoken to a mate 18 km away on the Leinster Mt Magnet Road. He was amazed how clear it was especially a crap Uniden.
AnswerID: 432816

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:48

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:48
Hi Ian,
I have limited experience with UHF in general and no experience with brand or model performance.
Perhaps others may see the significance of this but with respect, its a bit lost on me.

FollowupID: 703570

Reply By: Simon (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:27
I'm kinda glad that I just bought a Hatadi Pearce-Simpson Super Puma AM/USB/LSB CB a couple of weeks ago.

Just need to find myself an aerial cable and hopefully a bullbar mount for it and I'll be set.. Anyone who has a suitable cable and mount they want to get rid of can msg me or email me :-)
AnswerID: 432886